Beginner help with my yarn!

hello everbody im martin. i am completely new to knitting only been knitting since yesterday but i really like it. i knitted with chopsticks and string for my first day but i now have a proper needle and yarn thank goodness.
oh well i have inserted a picture of something i done. very basic i guess. i was curious. if u look at my picture the left string is towards the ball of yarn and on the right side my string which i use to loop around my second needle when knitting. i am wondering say if i was making a scarf, how much string do i need on the right hand side?
before this i knitted like a very small piece then i was about to bind it off. i binded half of my piece then i had no yarn left on my ‘right’ side. So say if i was to make a scarf, how much yarn would i need on my ‘right’ side? is there a way to know how much yarn needed or is it just a estimate?

http://tinypic.com/r/2iu3p68/8

also for a scarf how many stitches am i looking to put on?

thank you for reading!

Welcome to KH. Your knitting looks great!

I think you’re knitting with the yarn tail and you should be knitting with the yarn that’s coming from the ball. Which cast on did you use?

For knitting a scarf if you’re going to use the same yarn and needles then I’d say get a pretty good idea of how many stitches per inch you have then multiply the by how many inches wide you want your scarf. If you get, say, 4 stitches/in, and want the scarf 6 in. wide, then cast on 24 stitches. That’s just an example, use your real numbers.

Haha yeah your right im knitting with the wrong side.

Ok so my cast on… Im not sure what it is called but its from this

If i was to bind off my piece then cut off my yarn from the ball, is there a method to recast my yarn so i can continue knitting or would i have to keep the piece in my needle at all time when not working it?

Thanks