Beginner Asking For Help

[FONT=“Lucida Console”]Hi All!! :muah:

I apologize ahead of time if this question has been posted. I just didn’t know how to search for this topic.

I’m a novice knitter and not sure how to even phrase this question. Ummmmm, I am doing a practice swatch right now but planning on knitting a scarf as my first project. I’ve learned the knit and purl stitches but need to know if I have completed 6 purled rows which side of my needle should my completed work be on when i start the knit stitch?

Not using a pattern for my scarf just doing like 8 rows of the knit stitch and then purl/knit/purl/knit/purl maybe.

I would appreciate any help anyone could offer. :grphug:[/FONT]

[COLOR=DarkOrchid][SIZE=3][FONT=Comic Sans MS]:waving: Eight rows of purl stitch done flat is the same as eight rows of knit stitch done flat. It’s called garter stitch. You’ll get ridges and valleys. Each ridge is counted as two rows. Garter stitch is reversible so it really doesn’t matter which side you start on for the next phase of your scarf project.

[/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkOrchid][SIZE=3][FONT=Comic Sans MS]However, CO and knit or purl six rows your tail will be at the bottom right hand corner as you begin to knit the 7th row. Your completed work is always in your left hand as you start your next row.

I’m not sure if that answered your question, but if it didn’t ask again! :stuck_out_tongue:
[/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR]

A purl st is the back of a knit st and vice versa. In the pattern you have - 8 rows of garter st, then switch to stockinette, you can count the Vs on the knit side to know when you’ve done 6 rows of them. Also note that stockinette st (knit a row, purl a row) curls at the edges, but if you’re going to do more rows of garter stitch in between, that should help keep it flat.

[FONT=“Lucida Console”]Thanks YarnLady & Suzeeq. I truly do appreciate the help…and I need all the help I can get :hug: