Be honest - knitted skirts/dresses?

I’m new to all this knitting stuff, and to be honest, some of the patterns I’ve seen are just…odd. I don’t mean “odd” odd, like the, er, apple cozy, which seems normal enough, if you’re into that sort of thing.

But things like the turtleneck sweater that lacked the sweater part. Just the neck. The ad copy said something like “keep your neck warm without all the hassle of getting dressed and undressed!” They seemed serious.:shrug:

I have to say, though, the skirt/dress concept seems a little shaky. Some of the patterns seem nice, some are a little, uh, different…I’ve been on the fence about whether or not even to ask this question - but I’m dying to know.

Do they, or do they not, create “diaper butt”? You know what I’m talking about. Like jeans you’ve worn too long. Or those pants that seemed great in the store, but as soon as you got up for that first cup of coffee after sitting down at work you realize were a really bad idea. Saggy bottom.

The whole idea of knitted goods on the badonkadonk seems tricky. :think: I can’t figure out how it might work. So be honest-
have you done it? Do they sag? Do they look amazing? In a good way or a bad way? Newbies want to know. :mrgreen:

Depends on the pattern and the yarn used. I would try it if I found a cute pattern… but the truth is, there isn’t enough yarn in existance to cover this.

I’ve seen some dress and skirt patterns that I just love–and I want to try them----but the amount of yarn needed!!? It’s would cost over $100 easily. Especially if you find a nice yarn that won’t do the sag thing.
Besides that, it seems to me that while they fit the models beautifully, just in the nature of handknits- they would accentuate all the wrong places on normal women.

I’m definetly a pass on the skirt, dress thing. I’m sure you could find something that wouldn’t give a sagging butt, perhaps using really fine yarn and small needles.