At What Point...

Do you say, “I give up?” I have been trying to knit a chevron blanket for the last 2 weeks and have ripped it out no less than 12 times! It’s not a hard pattern at all but I keep making basic mistakes. Adding or loosing stiches, dropping a stitch on a decrease…I try to tink back and find that I can’t fix the problem so end up starting over.

I’m feeling quite sorry for myself. I keep thinking that if I can’t manage this, how will be able to tackle sweaters! Ugh!

I’m being melodramatic I know. Please just tell me it’s going to be OK so I can mourn my ravaged yarn (it looks dreadful, I’ll have to cut this bit off) and start once again. :woman_facepalming:t5::rofl:

Nooo !! Don’t give up. Its all a part of learning the curve. Mistakes that is.
I’m new at knitting and have always wanted to learn. But it looked so intimidating, patterns specially.
Take one step at a time and keep going. When you finish a project, it is a sense of achievement.

You can add a lifeline every few rows. So if you make a mistake you can easy unravel it to that point of your work.
Goodluck.

I’m agree with all you’ve said and I’ve told myself that mistakes are just part of the fun. I just can’t seem to grasp this pattern for some reason. Or at least that’s what I think it is!

I’ve even been using life lines! Ugh!

I shall persevere and hopefully I’ll finish before Christmas. Haha!

I agree with Kyrad, you can do this. You’re learning even as you make those mistakes. You’re using lifelines so that’s all to the good. Markers may help too if only in making it easier to count sts and recognize mistakes earlier.
There no shame in putting a project on hold either. Give it a rest. Work something else and when you’re ready go back to that problem child.