Anyone have this happen with smaller needles?

This only happens when I use very small needles (size 3 or smaller). For my current WIP I am using size 1 DPNs. I’m not sure how it’s happening, but I have a couple of puncture wounds on the tip my left index finger. I put a bandaid on it for a couple of days and it started to heal. But now that I’ve removed the bandaid (it kept shredding on the yarn), it’s getting worse again.

I did when i first started using pointy needles in general, but it got better over time. Is this the first time with pointy needles/small needles?

No. I first experienced this when I knitted my first pair of socks. Any time I knit a pair of socks, mittens, or delicate lace on small needles. It does not happen on size 4 or larger needles. Only size 3 or smaller.

Try not to push on the needle? I’m almost self-taught, and have seen a lot of knitting tutorials show the knitter pushing on the tip of the needle with fingertips. The few times I’ve tried it this way just makes my finger hurt. Smallest needles I’ve used is 6, but I have a set that is very pointy.
I just don’t do it that way.

It takes practice, but I agree. Try not to push on the tip so hard. I don’t use that small often, but I don’t get sore anymore.

Quilters have a thimble that’s more flexible than the old metal ones. Look in the quilting department at the craft stores.

1 Like

I always do it, and then the tip always finds the hole. I super glue the hole.
Pushing with a fingernail or thumb and finger pinching the tip works.