Alternating Pattern - Help

Hi!
I’m new to knitting and am working on a hat for my hubby. I made him this already but it was too small. So I’ve increased my knitting needle size (7 to 8, I’m a tight knitter) and he wants me to increase the width of the ribbing. The pattern calls for 3 rows of 1x1 ribbing and he wants me to add two more rows. My yarn is the same as the pattern.

My question, if I do all these changes will I need to change the row count of the decrease pattern? Will increasing the ribbing rows effect the rest of the pattern?

Any help/ advice is appreciated.

Here’s the pattern:http://denverlibrary.org/files/helmet.pdf

Thank you!
valentina :stuck_out_tongue:

If your adding rows you are adding length. This won’t affect the decrease count. But if you mean you want to add width by adding two more ribs then yes your decrease count will change. You might not need to add either if you are going up a size in needles. I looked at your pattern it says neck ribbing is K2 P2 for six inches. I don’t see where it is K1 P1 for three rows? If you need to add more ribs then you would have too add stitches in groups of four.

I’m a nerd, I sent the wrong link. So sorry:-) but your advice applies here. I’m primarily looking to add length and had assumed the needle size would assist w/ widening. In more ribbing my pattern calls for k1, p1 but I’m going to leave it alone and count on the larger needles.

Thanks I needed to sort it out with someone so I thank you nanaknits!

You need to know your gauge. If you stay with the same needles and yarn you can measure gauge on the completed hat. If you’re changing needles then you need do a swatch in stockinette to know how many sts/in. and cast on for the right size. You can get help figuring out how many to cast on here too.

http://www.earthguild.com/products/knitcroc/marypat/hatcalc.htm