Adding on

I’m a very beginning knitter. I’m attempting to do a simple sweater pattern, seen here: http://www.dailyguideposts.com/giveaways/ClassicT-Top.pdf

Where the sleeves start, it says to “add on” stitches to make the extra length. I assume this is done by casting on additional stitches. I was taught the continental cast on, and it doesn’t seem to work in this situation.

I’ve also attempted using a single cast on, but when I knit the next row, I get a growing strand of yarn between the stitches I just completed, and the cast-on stitches that I need to knit next.

Is there some other method to do this, or do I just need to practice to get my tension right?

I can’t describe any methods of adding on stitches as I’m relatively new to knitting myself, but in the video section of this site there are videos showing how to increase stitches.

Sounds like you’re using a backward loop cast on. That’s my least favorite for just that reason - all that extra yarn between the new cast on stitches and the existing row. It can work if you’re only casting on 1-2-3 very few stitches, but the more new cast on stitches, the more extra yarn there will be.

I would use a knitted or cable cast on. Check the video sections.