Adapting a pattern to knit in the round

Hi guys,

I made this wine bottle cozy for my dad from knitty:
wine bottle cozy

I hate sewing seams, and I wanted to make more (I thought having a pile of these in my gift closet would come in handy since they knit up so quickly) so I decided to adapt the pattern to dpn’s - but I’ve never done this before and find that I’m a little stumped.

First, there’s the wrong side part where the eyelets are formed:

[WS]: K2, [YO, p2tog tbl, p2, YO, k2tog] to last 4 sts, YO, p2tog tbl, p2
Would the adapted version read:

P2, [YO k2tog tbl, k2, YO, p2tog] to last 4 sts, YO, k2tog tbl, p2
?

Also, there’s the part where the ridge/ knit in i-cord is put in on the base of the cozy:

[WS]: [With left needle, pick up purl bump of next st, 6 rows down, p this st tog with next st on needle] to end of row. This will form a ridge on the right side of work.
Could I do this on dpn’s - say, when I come to this row, I work on the inside of the tube (ie. “inside out”) on the dpn’s?

Thanks so much guys. I am going to try one like this over the next few days and if successful will post the pattern on my (much neglected) blog with links to the original. Can someone tell me if I’ve got it right? Thanks again!

You’ll also have to reverse the order as well as the k/p of the wrong side stitches.

Imagine that in straight knitting your right side stitches are numbered 1-50. On the wrong side, after you turn, you’re working the stitches from number 50 back down to 1.

In the round, you’re always working 1-50.

So from the original:

[WS]: K2, [YO, p2tog tbl, p2, YO, k2tog] to last 4 sts, YO, p2tog tbl, p2

to:

k2, k2tog tbl, YO [p2tog, YO, k2, k2tog tbl, YO] p2
?

Thanks Ingrid! Once again you save me from myself!

You might want to practice it first, since I’m not sure that the p2tog tbl is going to look the same as k2tog tbl.