About the scrunchable scarf

Thanks to finding this forum, I have been introduced to the scrunchable scarf! I am very interested in making one of these.

I am a beginner knitter, I have made two scarves, with garter stitch only. I am learning to perl and feel I am ready to take on a little bit more difficult scarf!

What I understand about the scrunchable scarf is that it is K2 P1 and it the number of stitches has to be a multiple of 3.
I was thinking about doing 21 stitches because the last scarf I made with the same yarn, I made 26 stitches across and it was just a little two wide, but that was just garter stitch - don’t know if that makes a difference.

Anyways, what I am wondering is, do I ALWAYS start with knit stitch on each row?
So basically would my scarf look like this if I did 21 stitches?:
KKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKP
PKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKK
KKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKP
… and so on?

I just want to make sure I am doing this right before I start, ya know?
Before i read anything about this scrunchable scarf I was going to do a ribbed scarf by doing K2P2… could I do that anyway I wanted like K3P3… etc…?
Thanks so so much
I am really excited to get started!

The pattern directions state:

Cast on a multiple of 3 sts (plus one on each edge for a selvage).
The pattern repeat is just K2, P1 - on both sides. Because you are working with an odd number of sts, you get a column of knit sts, a column of purls, and a column of moss st. It pleats itself and its reversible, but its very flexible.

Based on this info you have a multiple of 3 PLUS 2. So if you want do 21 you really need to CO 23.

You always start with a knit. As the pattern states you k2p1 on both sides. It’s very easy and it’s a nice squishy scarf!

As for ribbing…sure you can do it anyway you like! Just make sure to knit the knits and purl the purls to get ribbing. :wink:

Thanks. :slight_smile:

So, it should look like this?

KKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKK
KKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKKPKK

if I make it 23 stitches?