A bunch of knitting Qs and some FOs(pics)

I have a lot of questions. I’m a self-taught (or book taught) knitter. [SIZE=“1”](Unfortunately no grandmas who taught me to knit. :cry: my mom’s not the “creative type” either.).[/SIZE] I hope someone can enlighten me somewhat.

[B]1.[/B] What’s a great book on knitting your own sweaters/garments? I’m interested in the top-down method at the moment.

[B]2.[/B] Kool-Aid Dyeing: does it bleed? does it fade when you wash/dry it? I’ve just bought some undyed KP yarns and wanted to try my hand at dyeing.

[B]3.[/B] I bought the Ariann pattern from Chic Knits. One of the instructions for the chart says: “[SIZE=“1”][B]Slip 2 knitwise, knit both thru front of st[/B][/SIZE]”. Is this just simple SSK or does it mean slip 2 sts [I]together[/I] knitwise, [I]and then[/I] knit thru the front?

[B]4.[/B] Gaps. I finished knitting Brea from Berroco but noticed gaps, in between the parts where I had to do k2tog and SSK. Any way to remedy this? (See pics below. The white is just plastic bags I used to stuff it.)

[B]5.[/B] Felting: I tried the Sophie bag pattern from Magknits using Patons SWS. My first ever felting project. I have a front-loading washing machine. I’ve read the yarn shrinks a LOT, so I made sure to watch it carefully when I washed it. It did shrink but you can still see stitch definition. I didn’t want to go any further because it might have ended up a bag for Barbie. Anyway, I used US 11 needles. Yarn recommends US 9. I’ve read cascade 220 is normally US 8 but US 10.5 for felting. What’s the rule for needle size if you are felting? I mean, like how much larger should they be than the one recommended? (See pics below.)